top of page
Search
  • scarlgirl0

Every tomorrow becomes today


Morrison to the left of me, Thunberg to the right,

Here I am stuck in the middle of the news,

Yes, I’m stuck in the middle of the news,

And I’m wondering what it is I should do,

It’s hard to ignore climate change,

Soaring temperatures, bushfires that fill me with rage,

Morrison to the left of me, Thunberg to the right,

Here I am stuck in the middle of the news,

The IPCC said no more than 1.5,

Now half a billion animals aren’t alive,

Attenborough won’t live forever,

Let’s stand together, it’s now or never,

Image: Trump vs. Thunberg tug of war cake

Extinction Rebellion are taking to the streets, Missing school, yet the message repeats, Carbon emissions feed parents’ admissions, That they might choose not to have children But if the choice was left to me and I had to choose what’s right, I’d say to the industries, it has to come from the top, If the Earth was your child, would you choose not to fight, To say “we’re just x% of emissions, it’s not our responsibility to act”, surely not, But if everyone said that, we’d all stay the same Trump to the left of me, Thunberg to the right, Here I am stuck in the middle of the news, “The moment of crisis has come”, Hope is not enough for change to be done, If China were a domino, we’d all come tumbling after, This is not Channel 4 debates and ice statues melting away, Science turned political and audiences filled with laughter, This is our future, for every tomorrow becomes today.


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page